Skip to main content

How to Add Contributors to Your Project

How to add contributors to the project for collaboration

Latest Update: 10-2-2026

The Contributor role is for users who need to create and manage their own elements within a project while restricting changes to elements created by other users.

Restrictions of a Contributor

Contributors cannot:

  • Edit or delete elements owned by others

  • Duplicate, invite, and delete projects

  • Create relationships from elements owned by other users to their own elements

  • Add or update data date

  • Change ownership of elements

  • Add codes to elements owned by other users

  • Add Timeframe resources
    ​

How to Identify Restricted Elements


​Canvas: Double-clicking on an element’s name or duration shows a tooltip indicating it’s restricted
​

Table & Gant: Hovering on an element owned by other users will display an icon next to the element name

How to add/remove a Contributor

Adding a Contributor

  1. Open a project and click “Share” in the top left
    ​


    ​

  2. Add users, select “Contributor” as their role, and send the invite
    ​


    ​Note: As Project Owner or Full Editor, you can change a user role to contributor
    ​

Removing a Contributor

  1. Find the user, click the dropdown next to their name, and select Remove Role
    ​

How to find elements added by a particular contributor

  1. Open filter in the top right
    ​


    ​

  2. Select “Owned By” condition
    ​


    ​

  3. Add the user and enable filter
    ​


    Learn more on how to use the filter here

Special Cases for Contributor Role

  1. Projects with no Contributors: If no contributors have been assigned to a project, the Owned By column will not appear.
    ​

  2. Projects created before January 2025 will not have Contributor role. As a result:

    1. The Owned By column will not be available for Table or Gantt views.

    2. The Contributor option in the role dropdown will be disabled.
      ​


    ​

Did this answer your question?