Skip to main content

Making a Project Version Read Only

How to make projects “read only” so they can be viewed but not edited

Read Only mode prevents any modifications to a project, ensuring its data remains unchanged. When a project version is in Read Only mode, users with the appropriate permission can view all elements but cannot edit them.
​
Only project owners and organization admins can enable or disable Read Only mode

Identifying a Read Only Project

Home Page: Project cards in Read Only mode have an eye icon next to the version name.

Inside a Project: A Read Only dropdown appears in the top-right corner of the header, replacing the "Schedule" button.

Versions Canvas: Versions set to Read Only have a tag on top of the card indicating their status.

Enabling/Disabling “Read Only”

Only project owners and organization admins have the permission to enable/disable “Read Only”.

Navigate to the Versions canvas.

  • To Enable: Open the three-dot menu for the desired version and select Make Read Only.

  • To Disable: Open the three-dot menu for a version set to Make Read Only and select “Make Editable”

Identifying the Project Owner

This can be done in 2 ways:

  • When a project is in Read Only mode, click on the Read Only dropdown to view the list of project owners.

  • From “Share” in the header

Did this answer your question?